Hotel Tarcento, Restaurants Tarcento, Bed and breakfast Tarcento, Holiday Farms Tarcento
- 35,08 sq. km
- 230 m a.s.l.
- P. Roma
- 33017 - Tarcento (UD)
- Aprato, Bulfons, Ciseriis, Coja, Collalto, Collerumiz, Loneriacco, Malmaseria, Molinis, Sammardenchia, Sedilis, Segnacco, Stella, Zomeais
Its geographical position and mild climate favoured the building of villas in the lovely town on River Torre, which was known as -the pearl of Friuli- in the early 1900s. Thus, Villa Pontoni, whose oldest part called palazzat, the former residence of the noble Frangipane household, dates to the 16th century; Villa Angeli, belonging to the Frangipane and then to the Prampero households, was decorated inside by Francesco Barazzutti (19th cent.); Villa de Rubeis, built in 1759; Villa Moretti, one of the greatest accomplishments by architects Ruggero and Arduino Berlam (ca. 1920); Villa Marcuzzi, dated 1924, designed by Ermes Midena. And then Palazzo Frangipane, today publiclyowned, at Villafredda, and Villa Liruti, inside the highly picturesque fortified medieval complex, must not be forgotten. Also the rural neighbourhoods of Coia, Molinis, Stella and others are worth visiting, as they still retain various typical features, in spite of the loss of many houses owing to the earthquake and the restructuring of many others. The parish church of S. Pietro Apostolo dates from the Romanesque period but was restructured in the 15th century and later on modified and enlarged. Its 17th-century marble high altar is really spectacular, full of good-quality statues, purchased in 1813 from the church of S. Maria della Cella in Cividale. The parish church also contains an altarpiece by Odorico Politi portraying the Delivery of keys to Peter, maybe a bit melodramatic but correct and directed by the old style. In the choir, decorations by Francesco Barazzutti are to be found, while the nave ceiling boasts a fresco of the Assumption of the Virgin by Giuseppe Ghedina (1874). At Segnacco, the lovely votive church of S. Eufemia (14th cent.) used to have a polychrome gilded wooden statue of S. Eufemia datable to the mid-14th century, now replaced by a copy while the original is in the Diocesan Museum in Udine. In the other parish church dedicated to S. Michele, an important cycle of frescoes by Lorenzo Bianchini is found in the choir vault and nave (1880), while the church of Madonna del Giglio at Aprato contains a recently restored wooden altar dating to the early 1600s attributed to G.A. Agostini; finally, in the church of S. Biagio, a small Virgin with Child by Leonardo Thanner (end of 15th century) is worthwhile.