Hotel Rivignano, Restaurants Rivignano, Bed and breakfast Rivignano, Holiday Farms Rivignano
- 30,72 sq. km
- 13 m a.s.l.
- P. IV Novembre, 34
- 33050 - Rivignano (UD)
- Ariis, Flambruzzo, Sella, Sivigliano
As recent surveys and numerous finds have confirmed, in Roman times, between the 1st century BC and the 5th-6th centuries AD, the area was spread with clay deposits and resurgences which determined several rural and productive settlements. It was, however, in the late Middle Ages, before the fortress of Palmanova was built, that the territory enjoyed a period of great flourishing, thanks to the strategic role of the Castle of Ariis which, partly demolished in the 16th century, was replaced by Villa Savorgnan, Ottelio (13th-19th centuries), with manor house, park and Italian garden, adjacent to the picturesque rural district (church and salt storerooms). In the same way, the village of Sella developed around the austere Villa Belgrado, Romanelli (17th century); again, Villa Codroipo, Rota, Badoglio (17th-18th centuries) was raised on the ruins of a castle (tower) at Flambruzzo, whose Neoclassical church displays excellent silverware and liturgical fittings. Not least is the parish church of Rivignano (1507, but neo- Gothic today), as well as the small church of B. Vergine del Rosario in the cemetery, with an imposing altar considered B. Blaceo’s masterpiece (1552).