Hotel Precenicco, Restaurants Precenicco, Bed and breakfast Precenicco, Holiday Farms Precenicco
- 26,96 sq. km
- 5 m a.s.l.
- V. Roma, 22
- 33050 - Precenicco (UD)
The enviable position of the territory, crossed by River Stella and situated between the resurgences and the Marano lagoon, so rich from the naturalistic point of view, favoured the establishment of a famous medieval “Commenda” (since 1232) ruled by the Teutonic Knights of Jerusalem who managed the river port traffic. Here the Germanspeaking pilgrims took sail towards the Holy Land, together with knights, merchants, and confraternity members. Three coats-of-arms of such “commendatori” are walled in the so-called “Canevon”, an imposing 18th-century warehouse erected by Count Cassis Faraone on the remains of the ancient hospice and a 13th-century castle. A fortified building used to be on the Stella riverbank, in the area of Villa Hierschel (19th cent.), in which a very peculiar garden was created on a design by Jappelli. At Titiano, the second port of call on the river mouth, the picturesque church of S. Maria della Neve was mentioned since the 12th century and contains Renaissance fresco fragments, while the parish church di S. Martino boasts, among other works, the remarkable high altar made of polychrome marble (1623).