Hotel Fagagna, Restaurants Fagagna, Bed and breakfast Fagagna, Holiday Farms Fagagna
- 37,02 sq. km
- 177 m a.s.l.
- P. Unità d Italia, 3
- 33034 - Fagagna (UD)
- Battaglia, Ciconicco, Madrisio, Villalta
Even though the Fagagna area had been inhabited since Roman times, the oldest document mentioning the place is dated 983, when Emperor Ottone II confirmed that the Patriarch of Aquileia Rodoaldo had full temporal powers over the castle of Fagagna. In those times a church must have existed too, later destroyed, as the castle, of which little remains. Built high on top of a hill, the Pieve of S. Maria Assunta dates from the 17th century, with its salient façade, nave and aisles. Inside it contains a font by G.A. Pilacorte dated 1504, while the high altar dates from 1703-1705 and is graced with two statues of Annunciation by Giacomo Giovanni Contiero (1759); more sculptures by the same author are found to the side of the Rosary Altar. The parish church of S. Giacomo, today showing 19th-century forms, has apse frescoes by Sebastiano Santi dating to the years 1849-50, the same period in which the high altar was made (Pietro Fantoni), ten years later to be complemented with statues by Luigi Minisini. Giacomo Secante’s altarpiece of Virgin with Child and Saints is definitely older, dating to the year 1555. Fagagna played a crucial role in the Friuli Homeland and under Venetian rule, as witnessed by the 16th-century Casa della Comunità. An even more essential role was played by the lords of Villalta, as their castle was involved in important episodes, not least the plot against Patriarch Bertrand after which the building was completely razed to the ground (1353). Rebuilt and often modified, the castle appears today as one of the most imposing and charming in the region, partly preserving its original medieval plan with embattled tower, keep, and rampart walks, which tell the willing listeners the history of its noble owners, from Enrico of Villalta, mentioned in 12th-century documents, to the Counts Torre who had it rebuilt in the 1500s, down to its present owners. The parish church of SS. Pietro and Paolo in Villalta shows two good paintings by Giuseppe Buzzi (18th cent.), while that of SS. Cosma and Damiano in Ciconicco, remodelled in Neoclassical style by Giuseppe Zandigiacomo (1854), has an interesting series of 18th century marble altars. The ancient church of Madonna di Tavella at Madrisio boasts a Roman bas-relief and 13th- and 16th-century frescoes, while the church of S. Leonardo at Fagagna still has an interesting though much ruined cycle of frescoes dating from the 1400s.